Log in

JAA announces 2017 JAA Australasian Jewellery Awards

13 February 2017

The highly-respected JAA Australasian Jewellery Awards will be held in 2017. This premier industry awards event was established in 1968 to celebrate the creativity and imagination that abounds in the industry. Established as a highlight for the Australian and New Zealand jewellery industry for many years, the Awards continue to be the leading local jewelley competition.

Unlike other awards events, the JAA Jewellery Awards are the longest running, respected, design and manufacture competition that is now to enter its 24th instalment. It is the only industry run and JAA endorsed award program. Since their conception, the JAA Jewellery Awards have invested in vibrant Australian talent both on a local and international stage.

The winner of Jeweller of the Year Award will receive an incomparable trip to Hong Kong to compete in the distinguished 2018 International Jewellery Design Excellence Awards. This prize will allow the winner to compete on the global stage in front of the world’s most elite jewellery professionals and, if a prize winner, the opportunity to exhibit their pieces to 45,000 international trade buyers that visit the Hong Kong International Jewellery Show annually.

All entrants will receive extensive exposure at the 2017 JAA Jewellery Tradeshow, in the JAA Awards publications,  via the JAA's social media pages and monthly newsletter.

Our media sponsor mywedding will provide broad consumer media coverage across their digital platforms. Category winners will be included in a multi-page print spread published by mywedding and the mywedding website will host the popular Reader's Choice Awards. 

All the winners will be announced at a live event where the who’s-who of the industry will gather to celebrate the leading lights of the jewellery world. The Awards celebrate excellence in hand-made design and craftsmanship, and provide industry members across Australia with an inimitable platform on which to showcase their abundant creative talent. 

For the first time, the JAA Australasian Jewellery Awards will host the Contemporary/Non-Precious Award category. The addition of the Contemporary/Non-Precious Award will allow entrants to submit pieces made from materials not otherwise represented in other categories. More information will follow on entry requirements. 

The 2017 Awards Judging Panel will include a diverse mix of professionals from the retail, manufacturing, supplier and celebrity realm to ensure a well-rounded critique of pieces entered into the competition. The JAA staff have extensive fine jewellery experience and will take the utmost care in the transportation and handling of pieces entered into the Awards.

Terms and Conditions and Entry Forms will be available on the JAA website soon.

The 2017 Awards categories are:

1st and 2nd Year Apprentice/Student Award
3rd and 4th Year Apprentice/Student Award
Metal Award (including gold, silver and platinum)
Colour Award (including coloured gemstones, pearl and opal)
Diamond Award
Contemporary/Non-precious Award NEW
Bridal Award – Tradition with a Twist
Apprentice/Student of the Year
Jeweller of the Year (Roy Worfold Perpetual Trophy)
These Awards would not be possible without the generosity of our valued sponsors, and we thank them:

Marsh Advantage Insurance
Showcase Jewellers
Arthur J. Gallagher
Hong Kong Trade Development Council (HKTDC)
Leading Edge

Privacy + Refunds Policy | Site Map | Terms | Contact© Copyright 2022

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software